top of page
  • Writer's pictureFox

Sensational Sweetie Potato & Black Bean Quesadillas!

Updated: Mar 17, 2020



Yes. This is really happening. It is NOT a dream. I found this recipe for Sweet Potato & Black Bean Quesadillas and I smacked it up, flipped it & rubbed it down into a delicious plant-based vegan recipe! Like whaaaatttt?!


Let's make it Plant-Based:

I replaced the shredded dairy cheese with shredded Violife Mozzarella and Cheddar. I got almost all of my ingredients at Trader Joe's which kept my costs low. I used brown rice tortillas because I have a gluten allergy but I also LOVE these other grain free options at Sieta Foods, (a family owned business ;). My favorite so far is the Cassava Flour tortillas. They have a slightly sweet toasty taste when you make them. #Nomz And instead of buying vegan cream cheese we made our own out of cashews! Recipe from 'Food by Mars' at the end of this post. (As for buying vegan cream cheese - any health food store will have many options and I believe Trader Joe's even has one).


So the Brown Rice Tortillas can be tricky to work with but alas my friend... here are some pro tips on how to get your partner in line (because they are worth it, right?! ;). So put some oil in a hot pan, throw in the tortilla, salt it lightly (I luv pink Himalayan salt) and flip it right away. Now salt the new side and let it let it heat for a few minutes so it gets crispy underneath. Then flip it again and sprinkle-sprinkle that cheesy cheese on it. Voila! Once it's a little melty remove it from the pan and now you will fill half of the tortilla with the dope sweet potato & black bean filling. You'll see in the video how I did all this and remember here's the original recipe for the quesadillas). Now throw this entire operation into the broiler for a few minutes until it's crispy and even more melt-in-your-mouth MELTY. THAT ladies & gents is how it's done.


Top it with passion: Top this bad mama jama with whatever you fancy. We LOVED the cashew cream cheese, guacamole (mashed up guac & a little salt), pico de gallo, red onions and cilantro. I know I made this video myself but whenever I watch it I dream of eating this meal over and over again. LOL And like I said - it's plant-based, vegan, vegetarian and gluten-free so YUM! A great way to keep your immune system boosted during these times when we need to watch out for our health.

Cashew Cheese Recipe from 'Food by Mars'

Ingredients: • 2 cups cashews (soaked in water for at least 2 hours & drained) • 1/2 cup water • 1/2 tsp garlic powder • 1 tsp saltJuice of 1 lemon • 1 tsp nutritional yeast


Directions: Submerge 2 cups of cashews in water and let sit for at least 2 hours to soften up. Drain cashews and add all cheese ingredients to a blender, mix until smooth and set aside. (I personally don't soak the cashews beforehand because the Vitamix can still get them creamy without it, but if you do this, you'll want to add water until it's creamy and smooth since the cashews didn't get a chance to soak up the water. Add water until you like the consistency. It should end up like a nice fluffy creamy cheese).


Love you boo boo bears. Stay well and & safe.


xoxo


Fox Girl Magic



P.S. Reasons to get your mac on with dem sweet potatoes:

1. They are HIGLY nutritious (link to all the fabulous vitamins & fiber inside)

2. They promote gut health

3. Have cancer-fighting properties

4. Support healthy vision

5. Enhance brain function

6. Support your immune function







88 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page